Home>>Media Center>>News Story
Bookmark and Share

Past SoutheastHEALTH Board Chairmen Honored


Recognition of service given to SoutheastHEALTH by past chairmen of the Board of Trustees and the introduction of the organization’s new governance structure highlighted an event hosted by SoutheastHEALTH May 20 at the Southeast Missouri State University River Campus.

Past Board chairs present at the event were praised by John Thompson, president of the SoutheastHEALTH System Board of Directors, for their commitment to the mission of the healthcare organization. “Since our founding almost a century ago, SoutheastHEALTH has seen many changes, met multiple challenges and continued to grow and thrive,” he said. “This progress would not have been possible without the vision and leadership of these Board chairs and all those men and women who dedicated countless hours to Southeast as a Board of Trustee member.”

Past Board chairs honored were:

  • Martin Hecht, Chairman, 1962 – 1963
  • Judge Stephen N. Limbaugh, Chairman, 1967 – 1969
  • Stephen E. Strom, Chairman, 1979 – 1981
  • Clarence Lee Shirrell, Chairman, 1987 – 1989
  • J. Ronald Fischer, Chairman, 1989 – 1991
  • Robert W. Erlbacher, II, Chairman, 1997 – 1999
  • Jerry R. Zimmer, Chairman, 1991 – 2001
  • David L. Hahs, Chairman, 2001 – 2003
  • Narvol A. Randol, Chairman, 2003 – 2005
  • Michael D. Kohlfeld, Chairman, 2005 – 2007
  • James A. Rust, Chairman, 2007 – 2009
  • James P. Limbaugh, Chairman, April 2009 – August 2009
  • Albert M. Spradling, III, Chairman, 2009 – 2013

SoutheastHEALTH President and CEO Wayne Smith said the organization is “equally fortunate to have today‘s leaders who will help guide us as we continue to develop and expand as a healthcare system. They, along with our Foundation, College of Nursing and Health Sciences and Auxiliary boards, have a wealth of expertise that will be invaluable as we pursue new opportunities and partnerships to benefit patients throughout the region.”

Smith said the new governance structure, which includes the SoutheastHEALTH System Board of Directors, the Southeast Hospital Board of Directors and the SoutheastHEALTH Regional Board of Directors, provides a great depth of talent and leadership as well as streamlined decision making.

“It allows us to capitalize on future growth opportunities in the ever-changing healthcare landscape as we continue to provide high quality care, at an affordable cost, close to home.”

SoutheastHEALTH System Board of Directors

  • John Thompson, Chairman, President and Bank Director of The Bank of Missouri
  • Bob Neff, First Vice Chairman, dealer and General Manager of Ford Groves in Cape Girardeau
  • Frank Kinder, Second Vice Chairman, President and General Manager of Red Letter Communications, Inc.
  • Jay Knudtson, Secretary/Treasurer, Executive Vice President and Board member of First Missouri State Bank
  • Albert M. Spradling, III, Immediate Past Chairman, an attorney with Spradling & Spradling
  • Stanley Crader, President of Crader Distributing
  • Michael Kohlfeld, owner, along with his family, of Kohlfeld Distributing Co.
  • Charles Kruse, former President of the Missouri Farm Bureau
  • Christine Mackey-Ross, Managing Partner of the central region and leader of the physician/clinical integration practice at Witt/Kieffer Executive Search Firm in St. Louis
  • James A. Rust, owner of RM COCO
  • Burl Stamp, a Cape Girardeau native who founded Stamp & Chase, a healthcare-focused consulting firm in St. Louis
  • Allen Toole, previous President of Cape Electrical Supply and currently a consultant with Schaefer’s Electrical Enclosures
  • Wayne Smith, President and CEO, SoutheastHEALTH

Southeast Hospital Board of Directors

  • Jerry Zimmer, Chairman, President of Great Plains Media
  • Benjamin Lewis, First Vice Chairman, Circuit Court Judge for the 32nd Judicial Circuit
  • Christopher Hutson, Second Vice Chairman, owner, along with his brother Dave, of Hutson’s Fine Furniture
  • Kevin Ford, Secretary/Treasurer, owner, along with his son Josh, of Ford and Sons Funeral Home
  • James Dufek, Professor of Mass Media at Southeast Missouri State University and coordinator of the TV and Film option
  • Steve Green, President of U.S. Bank in Cape Girardeau
  • John Grimm, an attorney with the Limbaugh Law Firm
  • Michael Kohlfeld, owner, along with his family, of Kohlfeld Distributing Co.
  • Bob Neff, dealer and General Manager of Ford Groves in Cape Girardeau
  • Rev. Paul Short, past Senior Pastor of St. Andrew Lutheran Church
  • Albert M. Spradling, III, an attorney with Spradling & Spradling
  • John Ueleke, a Cape Girardeau native and founder of Legacy Wealth Management in Memphis, TN
  • Wayne Smith, President and CEO of SoutheastHEALTH

SoutheastHEALTH Regional Board of Directors

  • Steve McPheeters, Chairman, Senior Vice President for MRV Banks in Cape Girardeau
  • Clay Crosson, President and Chief Operating Officer for Americare Senior Living in Sikeston, MO
  • Jay Knudtson, Executive Vice President and Board member of First Missouri State Bank
  • Greg Mathis, owner of Rainey-Mathis Funeral Homes in Dexter and Bernie, MO
  • Jack Norman, Treasurer of the Dexter Community Regional Healthcare Foundation
  • Brian Robison, Vice President of W.W. Wood Products in Dudley, MO
  • Lloyd Smith, a  Missouri Republican Party leader for nearly three decades
  • John Thompson, President and Bank Director of The Bank of Missouri
  • Wayne Smith, President and CEO of SoutheastHEALTH

Guests at the event also learned about a new organization, the SoutheastHEALTH Ambassadors. The group will serve as an extension of the SoutheastHEALTH Foundation and will help support SoutheastHEALTH community activities as well as assisting in the general philanthropic efforts of the Foundation.

Executive Vice President Jim Limbaugh introduced Josh Ford, Courtland Kohlfeld and Kyle Thompson, who have accepted the leadership role of being part of the inaugural Board of the Ambassadors. “They bring to the table their time, talents, resources and relationships to benefit the work of the Foundation and SoutheastHEALTH,” he said. “They truly represent the future of our organization.”

 Past Board Recognized 

Past chairmen of the SoutheastHEALTH Board of Trustees honored for service given to the healthcare system are, front row from the left: Clarence Lee Shirrell, Judge Stephen N. Limbaugh, James P. Limbaugh, James A. Rust, J. Ronald Fischer and Michael Kohlfeld. Shown on the back row from the left: Wayne Smith, SoutheastHEALTH President and CEO, David Hahs, Albert M. Spradling, III, Jerry Zimmer and John Thompson, Chairman of the SoutheastHEALTH System Board of Directors. Past Board chairmen unable to attend were Martin Hecht, Stephen Strom, Narvol A. Randol, Jr., and Robert Erlbacher, II.

Return To Previous Page