Skip to main content

Southeast Lab Services, previously located at 62 Doctors’ Park, is now open at 60 Doctors’ Park, upper level. Office hours are Monday – Friday from 8am – 4:30 pm.

SoutheastHEALTH Foundation Announces Scholarship Awards

Foundation | Posted Thursday, August 11, 2022

SoutheastHEALTH Foundation has announced recipients of healthcare scholarships made possible by the Foundation and the generosity of individual and family donors. Twenty-seven students received $32,500 in scholarship awards at an event held recently at the Jackson Civic Center.

Dr. Steven Langdon, President, Southeast Hospital College of Nursing and Health Sciences, addressed the group. Dr. Karen Crites Hendrickson, EdD, RN, NEA-BC, served as Master of Ceremonies, and scholarship certificates were presented by Gina Leath, Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer at SoutheastHEALTH, and Darah Jirkovsky, Executive Director, SoutheastHEALTH Foundation.

Jirkovsky said, “Because of the generosity of donors, our scholarship recipients are working to enter a field dedicated to helping others, which is more important now than ever before. These programs make a difference to patients and the communities we serve, as scholars meet their academic goals and enter the healthcare work force.”

Since 1962, the SoutheastHEALTH Foundation has awarded over $1.1 Million to local scholars. These funds have supported the education of over 1,300 current and future healthcare workers for our region.

This year’s recipients include:

Enrolled in SoutheastHEALTH College of Nursing and Health Sciences programs:
Kolbe Asmus, Tom Welch Radiography Scholarship
Mallory Cook, O.D. Niswonger Scholarship
Addison Curtis, James W. Wente Scholarship
Carly Gotto, Dorothy Kies Penzel Scholarship
Hope Hartman, Ronald James Schwent Nursing Scholarship
Alexys Littlepage, Jean Chapman, MD, Scholarship
Tina Medlock, Sheila Caskey, PhD, Scholarship
Mary Stewart, Karen Crites Hendrickson, EdD, RN, NEA-BC Scholarship
Audrea Tellor, Karen Crites Hendrickson, EdD, RN, NEA-BC Scholarship
Ashley Winkler, L.P. Maxwell, MD, Scholarship

Arkansas State University
Austin Bucher, Ilena Aslin Scholarship

Southeast Missouri State University
Amber Dukes, Karen Crites Henderickson, EdD, RN, NEA-BC Scholarship
Ashley Elkins, Balsamo Family Scholarship
Megan R. Te, William and Martina Scott Scholarship

St. Louis Community College
Bethany Dorris, Elda Haertling Scholarship

St. Louis University
Debra Compton, SoutheastHEALTH Foundation Scholarship
Mia Foote, Nancy Ann Bray Scholarship
James T. Waltz, Margaret Foster Roberts Scholarship

Southwest Baptist University
Brendan Gross, Margaret Foster Roberts Scholarship

Western Governors University
Martha Cissell, Polly DuVal Kinder Scholarship

Three Rivers College
Kaylee Ball, Hutson Family Scholarship
William Brewer, Charlotte Black Sargent Scholarship

Murray State University
Allyson Johnson, Hazel Harrison Strickler Scholarship

US Bank Foundation Giving Program-Grant

Southeast Hospital College of Nursing and Health Sciences
Elizabeth David
Aimee Linares

Central Methodist University
Tracy Lewis

Southeast Missouri State University
Matthew Obasanjo