Q: My table text isn’t lining up correctly, how do I fix it?
A: First, make sure that there isn’t a space to the left of your text – Sitecore automatically adds a space to all table cells when you create a table on a page. Make sure that you delete that space when you add text to a cell so that the space doesn’t sometimes show up to the left of the text and throw off alignment.
If that doesn't work, right-click within the cells, choose cell properties, and then select the cells for which you want to fix the alignment (you can choose the “select all” link at the bottom of the 'Cell Properties' tab if you want to set the alignment for all cells at once). Press the 'Content Alignment' dropdown arrow to choose alignment for the table text – top left aligned and center top aligned are the two most common choices.
Q: I want to create a bulleted list inside of a numbered list (or vice versa), how do I do this?
A: First, put every item into its own set of paragraph tags. Highlight all of the content (including the text that should be a bulleted list inside the numbered list) and press the bulleted list button. Next, highlight the text that you want to be bulleted inside the main list and press the indent button. With the text still highlighted, press the numbered list button.
To create a numbered list inside of a bulleted list, first put all of the items into a bulleted list, then indent the text to be numbered and press the numbered list button.
Q: The yellow banner at the top of my page says, "If you publish now, the selected version will not be visible on the Web site because it has been replaced by an older version,” or “If you publish now, the selected version will not be visible on the Web site because it is not in the final workflow step.” What does this mean?
A: Pages on the site go through workflow to become live on the site. Both of these messages mean that even if you publish the page, this version of the page will not be available on the live website because it is not the approved version of the page in the workflow. To make your version of the page visible on the live site, in the "Edit" menu, first submit the page and then approve it (only someone with CMS Admin access can Approve pages within the workflow).
Q: How do I know what needs to be 'published' and what needs to be 'approved' before it is visible on the live site?
A: The general rule of thumb is pages need to be approved and other items, such as items within the 'Global' or 'Media Library' section of the site, need to be published.
If you see 'Submit'/'Approve' as options in the Edit dropdown of the item, it will need to go through workflow. If you only see 'Check In' as an option, it will need to be published.
There are a few exceptions to this rule, including:
- If you make a change to a physician profile sub-item, the profile itself and its subitems should be published.
- If you make a change that affects more than just that page itself, like changing the navigation title or moving the page up or down a level within navigation, you’ll want to publish the parent item and its subitems to make sure that the change is made throughout the section.
- If you delete a page, you’ll need to publish the parent item and its subitems to remove it from the section on the website.
- If you want to unpublish a page (it will remain in sitecore but not be visible on the front end of the site), you need to check the “Unpublish” box and then publish the page.
Q: How can I tell where all occurrences of an image lives?
A: There are a couple of different ways you can go about this. If you select the item in the media library and go to the Navigate tab and then click the Links dropdown, the "Referrers" section lists all pages/item paths of items that refer (link) to the item.
Otherwise, you can select the item in the media library and choose delete. Then in the popup window, press the Edit Links button (below the Action radio buttons). An Edit Links popup window will appear, where you can choose to edit each individual link (instead of breaking all links or linking all to 1 item). See attached screenshot.
Q: How can I unpublish a page so it does not show, even if the address is known?
A: You can unpublish a page. Scroll down to the "Publishing" section on the page and check the box for "Never Publish". You'll then have to publish the parent-level section, including subitems, to remove the page from the site. This is also addressed by your redirect module - as long as you have the URL added to the redirect module, it will redirect anyone trying to come to that page to a new URL of your choosing.
Q: How can I progress or fix the issue when I go to open a folder in the architecture and nothing happens, just the circle spins?
A: If you are in a subfolder, try closing and reopening a parent folder and then it often fixes the issue. If the issue continues, try closing and reopening Sitecore and try again.
Q: What do I do if I encounter the "There are too many users using the system at this time." screen when I try to log into Sitecore?
A: When you get that screen, choose "Boost Users" and follow the prompts. This will temporarily boost the number of users allowed into Sitecore (and it's free).